Saturday, 19 August 2017

US Navy adds 4,000th Tomahawk Block IV cruise missile to fleet

AUG 17 2017

The US Navy has added the 4,000th Tomahawk Block IV cruise missile to its fleet.

The Tomahawk Block IV cruise missile was developed by Raytheon and is able to circle for hours, change direction instantly on command and strike with precision.

It can be launched from ships or submarines and can travel for 1,000 miles through heavily defended airspace to conduct precision strikes on high-value targets with minimal collateral damage.

Raytheon Air Warfare Systems vice-president Mike Jarrett said: “When it comes to flexibility, accuracy and firepower, no other cruise missile in the world compares to Tomahawk. That's why it's been called the nation's weapon of choice.

“We're not resting on our past success. Raytheon and the US Navy are modernising Tomahawk to provide sailors with the capability they need to stay ahead of the evolving threat.”

The Tomahawk missile's communications and navigation capabilities have been modernised as part of the upgrade works.

A multi-mode seeker has also been added to allow the missile strike moving targets at sea.

Some of the missile's upgrades are scheduled for implementation from 2019, while other enhancements will be carried out in several phases over time.

Raytheon’s upgraded Tomahawk cruise missiles are slated to be included in the US Navy inventory beyond 2040.

"Raytheon and the US Navy are modernising Tomahawk to provide sailors with the capability they need to stay ahead of the evolving threat."

US Naval Air Systems Command captain Mark Johnson said: “Navy sailors around the globe rely on the Tomahawk weapon system to preserve freedom at home and abroad.

“Working with Raytheon, we plan to continue upgrading and delivering Tomahawks far into the future.”

The Tomahawk cruise missiles are used by both by US and UK forces to defeat integrated air defence systems and carry out long-range precision strike missions against high-value targets.

The Tomahawk Block IV features a two-way satellite data-link that allows the missile to be retargeted mid-flight to pre-programmed alternate targets.

Original post:

Tomahawk Block IV cruise missile

The Block IV missile is capable of loitering over a target area in order to respond to emerging targets or, with its on-board camera, provide battle damage information to warfighting commanders. Tomahawk Block IV is currently in Full Rate Production. Tomahawk provides on-scene commander with the flexibility to attack long-range fixed targets or support Special Operations Forces with a lethal, responsive, precision weapon system and as such has become the weapon of choice for the U.S. Department of Defense.

 cruise missiles are designed to fly at extremely low altitudes at high subsonic speeds, and are piloted over an evasive route by several mission tailored guidance systems. The first operational use was in Operation Desert Storm, 1991, with immense success. The missile has since been used successfully in several other conflicts. In 1995 the governments of the United States and United Kingdom signed a Foreign Military Sales Agreement for the acquisition of 65 missiles, marking the first sale of Tomahawk to a foreign country. In 2003, an agreement was approved for the United Kingdom to procure 65 Block IV Torpedo Tube Launch Tomahawks. The United Kingdom began to receive Block IV missile deliveries in January 2008 and successfully declared their In-Service-Date in March 2008.

Point Of Contact
Program Executive Office, Strike Weapons and Unmanned Aviation [PEO (W)]
Public Affairs Office
Naval Air Station
Patuxent River, Maryland 20670-1547
phone: 301-757-9703

General Characteristics
Primary Function: Long-range subsonic cruise missile for striking high value or heavily defended land targets.
Contractor: Raytheon Missile Systems Company, Tucson, AZ.
Date Deployed: Block II TLAM-A IOC - 1984
Block III
IOC 1994
Block IV
IOC 2004.
Propulsion: Block II/III TLAM-A, C & D - Williams International F107 cruise turbo-fan engine; ARC/CSD solid-fuel booster
Length: 20.3 feet; with booster: 20 feet 6 inches (6.25 meters).
Diameter: 21 inches
Wingspan: 8 feet 9 inches (2.67 meters).
Weight: 3,330 pounds with rocket motor.
Speed: Subsonic - about 550 mph (880 km/h).
Range: Block II TLAM-A 1350 nautical miles (1500 statute miles, 2500 km)
Block III TLAM-C - 900 nautical miles (1000 statute miles, 1600 km)
Block III TLAM-D - 700 nautical miles (800 statute miles, 1250 km
Block IV TLAM-E - 900 nautical miles (1000 statute miles, 1600 km)
Guidance System: Block II TLAM-A INS, TERCOM
Warhead: Block II TLAM-N W80 nuclear warhead
Block III TLAM-C and Block IV TLAM-E - 1,000 pound class unitary warhead
Block III TLAM-D - conventional submunitions dispenser with combined effect bomblets.

Diameter: 518 millimeter (20.4 inch)
Length: 6.25 meter (246 inch)
Wingspan: 2.67 meter
Max Range: 1,800 kilometer (972 nautical mile)
Top Speed: 1,008 kph (0.84 mach)
Service Life: 15 year
Warhead: 450 kilogram (992 pound)
Weight: 1,588 kilogram (3,501 pound)
Source: deagelcom

No comments:

Post a Comment